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New Jersey Court System 
Mission Statement 

We are an independent branch of government constitutionally entrusted with the fair and 
just resolution of disputes in order to preserve the rule of law and to protect the rights and 
liberties guaranteed by the Constitution and laws of the United States and this State. 

Manifestación de la Misión del 
Sistema Judicial de Nueva Jersey 

Somos un poder gubernamental independiente encargado por la constitución de la 
resolución equitativa y justa de disputas con el fin de conservar el imperio de la ley y de 
proteger los derechos y libertades garantizados por la Constitución y las leyes de los 
Estados Unidos y de este Estado. 

WELCOME TO THE NEW JERSEY STATE COURTS 

Tax Court of New Jersey 
This Local Property Tax Small Claims handbook was developed to assist the taxpayer in filing an appeal 
with the Tax Court of New Jersey.  

It is not a substitute for the Rules of the Tax Court or for the advice or services of an attorney.  If you 
cannot afford a lawyer, you may contact the legal services program in your county.  You can also 
contact the county bar association for information on a lawyer referral service to see if they can provide 
names of attorneys in your area willing to handle your case. The telephone numbers can be found in 
your local telephone book or by searching online.  

In general, your case will be assigned to the judge closest to your property.  You will be given the 
address and telephone number of the assigned judge when the case is scheduled for trial.  If you need 
that information before the trial is scheduled (for example, you wish to make a motion), contact the Tax 
Court Management Office. 

The Tax Court currently maintains chambers in Trenton, Newark, Morristown, Hackensack, Bridgeton 
and Mount Holly.  

The rules governing Tax Court practice can be found in Part VIII of the Rules Governing the Courts of 
New Jersey.  The New Jersey Tax Court Reports (the published decisions of the Tax Court) can be found 
at most public law libraries.  Rutgers Law School-Camden maintains copies of the opinions of the New 
Jersey courts and a link to the Rutgers Law School site is provided on the Tax Court web page. 

All Tax Court forms, rules, recent opinions and other important information and resources are available 
at www.njcourts.gov. 

https://www.njcourts.gov/courts/tax.html
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What is A Local Property Tax Small Claims Case? 

A case is a small claims case if each separately assessed parcel of property included in the complaint is 
either a Class 2 residential property (1-4 family residence) or a Class 3A farm residence or the prior 
assessment year’s property taxes were less than $25,000.  Each are described below: 

• Class 2 residential property - a lot or parcel of land on which a house designed for use by not 
more than four families is situated. 

• Class 3A farm residence - farm property not assessed under the Farmland Assessment Act. 

• Prior year’s tax - the property tax paid on your property for the year before the assessment year 
you are appealing must have been less than $25,000. 

Types of Appeals 

Appeal from County Board of Taxation 
You must first file with your county Board of Taxation when your local property tax appeal: 

• is not an added or omitted assessment and is $1,000,000 or less; OR 

• is an added or omitted assessment and is $750,000 or less. 

You would then file with the Tax Court if you are not satisfied and wish to appeal the county Board of 
Taxation judgment. 

Direct Appeal 
You may bypass filing with the county Board of Taxation and file directly with the Tax Court when 
your local property tax appeal: 

• is not an added or omitted assessment and exceeds $1,000,000; OR 

• is an added or omitted assessment and exceeds $750,000. 

General Information 

Filing Deadlines 
A complaint for review of a final judgment of the county Board of Taxation must be filed with the Tax 
Court Management Office within 45 days of the mailing date that appears on the judgment. 

A complaint for a local property tax appeal that qualifies for direct review of the assessment by the Tax 
Court must be received in the Tax Court Management Office on or before April 1 of the tax year. 

In a taxing district where a municipal-wide revaluation or a municipal-wide reassessment has been 
implemented, complaints that qualify for direct review of the assessment by the Tax Court must be filed 
on or before May 1 of the tax year. 

The filed date is the date the Tax Court Management Office receives the complaint, NOT the date the 
complaint was mailed.  If the filing deadline is about to expire and you want to ensure the complaint is 
filed on time, you should bring it directly to the Tax Court Management Office in Trenton. 

At the time you file a complaint with the Tax Court, you must have paid all real estate taxes or any 
installments due for the assessment year involved in your appeal.  Also, you must have paid any other 
municipal assessments, such as water and sewer charges, as well as all taxes and charges for prior years.  
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For example, if you file your complaint with the Tax Court in June, you must have paid the tax 
installments and charges due up to and including May 1.  If you file in September, you must have paid 
the tax installments and charges due up to and including Aug. 1. 

If you are proceeding in the Small Claims Division based on the prior year’s property tax of less than 
$25,000, you must submit proof of the amount of property tax paid.  A copy of the prior year’s final tax 
bill or the current year’s notice of assessment card or a statement certifying the amount of the prior 
year’s property taxes must be submitted with your complaint.  If you fail to submit the required 
documentation, your complaint will be returned as a nonconforming paper stamped “Received but not 
filed (date)”.  You will have 10 days from the date of the notice returning your complaint to correct the 
deficiency. 

Filing Fee Payment 
The fee for complaints involving one property is $50.  The fee for complaints involving multiple 
properties is $50 for the first property and $10 for each additional property that is contiguous (next to) 
and in common ownership with the first property even if separated by a road.  If you are appealing two 
properties in common ownership that are not contiguous, you must file two separate complaints.  The 
filing fee must be received with your complaint.  Checks or money orders must be made payable to the 
Treasurer, State of New Jersey. 

If you are unable to pay the filing fee, you may apply to the court to request your filing fees be waived 
by the judge.  To request a waiver, you must complete the Certification/Petition/Application in Support 
of a Fee Waiver form and submit it to the Tax Court Management Office.  The form is available from 
the Tax Court Management Office or online at. www.njcourts.gov. 

Proof of Service 
A proof of service form must be submitted at the time a complaint is filed.  This form indicates to whom 
and how a copy of the complaint was served.  Methods of service may be personal or by regular, 
registered, or certified mail.  The date you mail a copy of your complaint forms to the county Board of 
Taxation, the clerk and the tax assessor is the “date served” to be used on the Proof of Service form. 

Please note: 
Rule 1:38-7(b) requires attorneys and self-represented litigants to redact (remove) confidential personal 
identifiers from all documents prior to filing, unless required by statute, court rule, administrative 
directive or court order.  Rule 1:38-7(a) defines a confidential personal identifier as a Social Security 
number, driver's license number, vehicle plate number, insurance policy number, active financial 
account number, or active credit card number.  An active financial account number may be identified by 
the last four digits when the account is the subject of litigation and cannot otherwise be identified.  It is 
not the responsibility of court staff to remove confidential personal identifiers when included in 
pleadings or other documents submitted to the court. 

Any form, document or attachment you submit with your complaint is considered a public document.  
This means the document as submitted will be available to the public upon request.  Therefore, do not 
enter personal identifiers on any document, such as Social Security number, driver’s license number, 
vehicle plate number, insurance policy number, active financial account number, or active credit card.  
Do not submit any document you do not want made public. 

Rule 8:5-3(a)(8) requires that a tenant, who is not the record owner and is entitled to file a complaint to 
contest a local property tax assessment, shall caption the complaint with the name of the record owner of 
the property, the name of the plaintiff and the relationship of the plaintiff to the owner.  Plaintiff shall 
serve a copy of the complaint, as well as any counterclaim, on the record owner of the property. 

http://www.njcourts.gov/forms/11208_filingfeewaiver.pdf
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Filing Procedures 

You can obtain the Local Property Tax Complaint Packet from the Tax Court Management Office or 
online at www.njcourts.gov.  The packet contains a Complaint Form, Proof of Service Form and a Case 
Information Statement along with other important information. 

• Complete and sign the Complaint.  Name the municipality where your property is located as the 
defendant. 

• Complete and sign the Proof of Service. 

• Complete the Case Information Statement.  If you require special accommodations under the 
Americans with Disabilities Act or require the services of an interpreter, complete the 
appropriate sections on page 2 of the Case Information Statement.  You will be contacted shortly 
after the filing of your complaint. 

• Mail the original forms and, if an appeal from the county Board of Taxation, a copy of the county 
Board of Taxation Judgment or, if a direct appeal, a copy of the Notice of Assessment Card or tax 
bill to the Tax Court Management Office. 

• Enclose the correct filing fee with the Complaint. 

• You must send copies of the completed Complaint Form, Proof of Service and Case Information 
Statement and any other attached documentation to the County Board of Taxation, tax assessor 
and clerk of your municipality.  Check your local telephone book for the addresses and telephone 
numbers. 

The Tax Court Management Office will docket the complaint and send a Case Management Plan that 
will include the docket number, anticipated trial date, assigned judge and discovery completion date. 

Preparing Your Case 

Discovery 
Discovery is the process by which each party obtains information or evidence from the other.  In small 
claims cases, discovery is limited to the following: 

• You are entitled to inspect and, at your cost, obtain from the municipality a copy of the property 
record card for your property.  The municipality must provide you with a copy of the property 
record card within 30 days of your request. 

• The municipality may request a copy of a closing statement if there has been a sale of your 
property within three years of the assessing date, and it may request the cost of improvements 
made within three years of the assessing date. 

• The municipality can request income, expense, and lease information if the property is 
income-producing (i.e. you have a tenant to whom you rent all or part of the property). 

• Limited information can be obtained by the municipality by an onsite inspection of your 
property.  You must permit the inspection to take place. 

Requests for additional information, either by you or the municipality, can be made only with court 
approval. 

If you need additional information from the municipality, you should apply in writing to the assigned 
Tax Court judge and state the reasons for your request. 

http://www.njcourts.gov/selfhelp/catalog.html?keywords=Property%20Tax%20set&customer=Prose
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You and the municipality must provide each other with information about any comparable sales you will 
rely on at trial.  If an expert is to testify at trial, his or her report must be provided to you and the 
municipal attorney before the trial. 

Sales of Comparable Properties 
At trial you will be required to prove to the Tax Court judge that your assessment is excessive.  You can 
prove that your assessment is excessive only by proving the fair market value of your property as of the 
assessing date.  The assessing date is Oct. 1 preceding the year for which your appeal is filed.  For 
example, the assessing date for an appeal of a 2018 assessment is Oct. 1, 2017. 

Fair market value, in general, means the price a willing buyer will pay and a willing seller will accept.  
The buyer and seller must be entirely independent of each other and neither compelled to buy or sell. 

You cannot prove the fair market value of your property by comparing your assessment with 
assessments on other properties or comparing your taxes with those of other properties.  Simply 
describing conditions affecting your property, such as heavy traffic or flooding, is not sufficient.  The 
purchase price of your property is strong evidence of value, but it is not conclusive. 

It is your obligation to prove to the judge that you are entitled to a reduction by proving the fair market 
value of your property. 

One method of proving the fair market value of your property is to provide information for the sales of 
comparable properties.  You may use sales of comparable properties which occurred within a reasonable 
time before or after the Oct. 1 assessing date.  Sales of properties that are similar to your property and 
occurred closer in time to the Oct. 1 assessing date will be more persuasive.  Presenting sales of 
properties with significant differences from your property or which occurred significantly before or after 
the Oct. 1 assessing date will have little persuasiveness. 

For income producing properties, you may rely on comparable rentals.  You need to establish the 
amount of income your property could generate.  This amount must be included in an income approach, 
which is a complex method of determining value. 

If you intend to rely on sales of comparable properties or on comparable rentals, you must provide the 
attorney for the municipality with a list of such comparable sales or comparable rentals.  The municipal 
attorney must receive this list no later than 20 days before the trial date.  Please note that information 
you provided to the county Board of Taxation or the municipality in connection with your county 
Board of Taxation hearing does not satisfy your obligations to your adversary in the Tax Court 
proceeding. 

For each comparable sale on your list upon which you will rely, you must include the following 
information: 

• Name of seller and buyer 

• Date of sale 

• Sales price  

• Book and page number at which the Deed is recorded in the Office of the Clerk or registrar of  
your county 

• If you are able to obtain the information, the Form SR-1A identification number assigned to the 
sale by the New Jersey Division of Taxation. 
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For each comparable rental upon which you intend to rely, your list must include the name of the 
landlord and tenant, the date of the lease and the relevant terms of the lease.  The more similar the 
comparable rentals are to your property and the closer to the Oct. 1 assessing date that the rentals 
occurred, the more persuasive the comparable rentals will be. 

If you intend to rely upon an appraisal or other valuation report, you must supply a copy of the appraisal 
or report to the municipal attorney.  The municipal attorney must receive this document no later than 20 
days before the scheduled trial date.  If the person who prepared your appraisal or valuation report does 
not appear to testify at trial, the Tax Court judge might not rely on the appraisal or report. 

If the municipality will rely upon an appraisal or other valuation report, it must supply it to you no later 
than 20 days before the scheduled trial date.  The person who prepared the report will testify about it, 
and you will have the opportunity to cross-examine him or her. 

Chapter 123 Ratio 
Each year, the Director of the Division of Taxation determines the average ratio of assessed value to the 
true value of all real property in each municipality.  This ratio is known as the Chapter 123 Ratio, 
N.J.S.A. 54:51A-6.  You can obtain the Chapter 123 Ratio for your municipality for a particular year 
from the tax assessor. 

Unless there has been a revaluation or reassessment in your municipality for the tax year under appeal, 
the Chapter 123 Ratio is used to determine whether you are entitled to a reduction in assessment, once 
the fair market value of your property is determined. 

Chapter 123 provides that a taxpayer is entitled to a reduction in assessment only if the ratio of the 
assessment on the taxpayer's property to the fair market value of the property exceeds the upper limit of 
the ratio.  The assessment is subject to increase if the ratio of the assessed value to fair market value is 
less than the lower limit of the ratio. 

The upper limit of the Chapter 123 Ratio is the ratio plus 15 percent of the ratio.  If, for example, the 
Chapter 123 Ratio is 80 percent, the upper limit would be 92 percent, as determined using the following 
calculations: 

(Ratio) 80 X .15 (15 percent of Ratio) = 12 
 12 + 80 = 92 or 92 percent 

The lower limit of the Chapter 123 Ratio is the ratio less 15 percent of the ratio.  If the Chapter 123 
Ratio is 80 percent, the lower limit would be 68 percent. 

Before applying the Chapter 123 Ratio, the judge must first determine the fair market value of your 
property.  Once the judge has determined the fair market value, the ratio is then applied as in the 
following examples. 

If, in any given year, the Chapter123 Ratio for your municipality is 80 percent with an upper limit of 92 
percent and a lower limit of 68 percent AND the assessment on your property is $190,000 AND the 
judge determines the fair market value to be $200,000, THEN, to determine if the upper or lower limit 
of the ratio was exceeded, the following calculation is performed (based on the example above): 

$190,000 divided by $200,000 = .95 or 95 percent. 
Since 95 percent exceeds the upper limit of 92 percent, your assessment would be reduced.  To 
determine the new assessment value, multiply the fair market value times the Chapter 123 Ratio: 
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$200,000 (Fair Market Value) x .80 (ratio) = $160,000 
Your assessment would be reduced from $190,000 to $160,000. 

If the judge in that same case had determined the fair market value of your property to be $300,000, 
THEN: 

$190,000 divided by $300,000 = .63 or 63 percent. 
Since 63 percent is lower than the lower limit of 68 percent, your assessment would be increased.  
To determine the new assessment value, multiply the fair market value times the Chapter 123 
Ratio: 

$300,000 (Fair Market Value) x .80 (ratio) = $240,000 
Your assessment would be increased from $190,000 to $240,000. 

If the ratio of assessment to fair market value of your property falls between the lower limit and the 
upper limit of the Chapter 123 Ratio, your assessment will not be changed. 

Dismissal of your Appeal 

Your appeal may be dismissed for any of the reasons listed below. 
1. Non-Payment of Taxes/Municipal Charges 

If you have not paid all taxes and municipal charges due and payable for the year for which review is 
sought and for all prior years at the time of filing a complaint with the Tax Court. 

If the county Board of Taxation correctly dismissed your case because you did not pay the required 
amount of taxes and municipal charges due at the time you appealed to the county Board of 
Taxation. 

2. Failure to Provide Income and Expense Information 
If you are the owner of an income-producing property and you did not provide the assessor with 
requested income and expense information within 45 days of the assessor's written request sent by 
certified mail.  This is information requested in the year before the taxes being appealed and not 
information requested during discovery. 

3. Prior Settlement, Withdrawal or Failure to Pursue Your Case Before the County Board of Taxation 
If the Tax Court determines that you settled or withdrew your case before the county Board of 
Taxation OR failed to present your appeal at a hearing before the county Board of Taxation.  For 
example, you did not appear on the scheduled hearing date. 

4. Late Filing 
If you did not file your petition of appeal with the county Board of  Taxation or, if a direct appeal, 
with the Tax Court by the filing deadline, generally April 1 of the tax year under appeal. 

If you did not file your complaint with the Tax Court within 45 days after the date the county Board 
of Taxation judgment was mailed to you. 

The four reasons for dismissal listed above are the most common.  However, other Rules exist which 
may also result in dismissal of your case. 
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Other Important Items 

Do I Need An Attorney? 
You can present your own case at trial unless ownership of your property is in the name of a corporation 
or an entity other than a sole proprietor.  A New Jersey attorney must appear on behalf of a corporation 
or entity such as a trust. 

Subpoena Process 
A subpoena can be used to compel a witness to appear and testify at trial, to produce a specific important 
document or to produce other existing items of evidence.  You are responsible for issuing and serving 
the subpoena on the proposed witness within a reasonable time prior to trial.  Additionally, you incur 
responsibility for all fees associated with this process.  Sample subpoena forms are available from the 
Tax Court Management Office or on the Tax Court Web site. 

Trial Notice 
You will receive a notice from the Tax Court Management Office stating the date, time, location and the 
assigned judge for your case.  The Tax Court Management Office makes every effort to schedule a small 
claims matter within six months of the date of filing of the complaint to give you adequate time to 
arrange for your appearance. 

Motion Practice 
If you need formal action by the Tax Court prior to trial, you must file a motion directly with the judge 
assigned to your case.  If your complaint has not been assigned to a judge, the motion must be filed with 
the judge assigned to the geographical area in which your property is located.  You can obtain the name, 
address and telephone number of this judge by contacting the Tax Court Management Office. 

Simultaneous with the filing of the motion, copies of all documents must be sent to the other party.  
Return dates for motions are generally every other Friday.  Exact dates may be obtained by calling the 
assigned judge’s chambers.  Sample motion forms are available from the Tax Court Management Office 
or the Tax Court Web site. 

Withdrawal Process 
A complaint may be withdrawn by forwarding a letter of withdrawal or Stipulation of Dismissal to the 
court. 

Communicating With the Judge 
Copies of all letters and other written communications you send to the judge assigned to your case must 
also be mailed to the attorney for the municipality. 

Settling Your Case Before Trial 

You can reach a settlement agreement with the municipality at any time before or up to your trial.  If the 
tax assessor for your municipality does not communicate with you before the trial is scheduled, you 
should place a telephone call to the assessor or the municipal attorney a few days before the scheduled 
trial date and ask if they are willing to discuss settlement of your appeal. 

If you reach a settlement agreement, the assessor or the municipal attorney will prepare a form of 
Stipulation of Settlement for your signature and signature by the municipal attorney.  Once the 
Stipulation of Settlement has been signed by all parties, the assessor or municipal attorney will send it to 
the Tax Court judge to whom your case has been assigned. 
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Additionally, if settlement is reached, the Tax Court judge should be notified immediately.  If the 
municipal attorney cannot place the call, it is your responsibility to do so. 

If the judge is advised before the trial date that your case is settled, you do not need to appear in court on 
the scheduled trial date.  If you do not settle prior to the trial date and you do not settle on the trial date, 
a Tax Court judge will hear your case. 

The Trial 

Every effort will be made to schedule trial within six months of the filing of the complaint.  If you have 
any questions about or problems with the trial date, communicate directly with the assigned judge’s 
chambers.  The judge’s telephone number is provided on the trial notice. 

The trial in small claims cases is conducted informally and the Rules of Evidence are not strictly 
applied.  All testimony is given under oath, and the proceedings are recorded.  You will have an 
opportunity to explain to the judge why you believe your assessment is too high and to present whatever 
evidence you believe supports your position.  You should be prepared to prove the value of your 
property.  If you supplied a copy of an appraisal or report to the municipal attorney,  remember the 
person who prepared your appraisal or valuation report must appear to testify at trial or the Tax Court 
judge might not rely on the appraisal or report. 

After you and each witness testifying on your behalf finish testifying, the municipal attorney will have 
the right to ask you and each witness questions.  This is called cross-examination.  You can state your 
opinion as to the value of your property.  You  also can present the in-person testimony of an expert, 
such as a real estate appraiser.  The judge might not consider an appraisal or other opinion as to value 
unless: 1) the person who prepared the appraisal or opinion testifies at the trial and 2) the appraisal or 
the other opinion of value is provided to the municipality at least 20 days before the trial. 

After you have presented your case, the municipality has the right to present its case.  The testimony 
usually will consist of testimony from the assessor or other expert.  After each witness presented by the 
municipality has finished testifying, you will have the right to ask that person questions, just as the 
municipal attorney can cross-examine your witnesses. 

The judge will usually render a decision at the conclusion of the trial. 

After Trial or Settlement 

The Judgment 
The Tax Court Management Office will issue a judgment reflecting the decision of the court after your 
case has been decided by the judge or a Stipulation of Settlement has been signed by all parties and 
received by the court. 

The Freeze Act 
After a judgment is entered in your case, you have the right to seek Freeze Act relief pursuant to statute, 
N.J.S.A. 54:51A-8.  You should request this option if you want the Freeze Act to apply.  If applied, (by 
the judge at your hearing, or afterward through the use of the Freeze Act application form), the Freeze 
Act will “freeze” your tax assessment at the judgment figures for the following two tax years, unless a 
complete revaluation or reassessment is undertaken by the municipality or unless there has been a 
change in the value of your property.  For example, you have made improvements to the property. 
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Appeals 
If you are dissatisfied with a Tax Court decision, you may appeal to the Appellate Division of Superior 
Court.  Your notice of appeal to the Appellate Division must be filed within 45 days of the date of the 
Tax Court decision.  Additional information and Appellate Division forms and instructions are available 
online at www.njcourts.gov or by calling the Appellate Division Clerk's Office at 609-815-2950. 

To request, at your cost, a copy of your case transcript for use with an appeal, you must: 

1. Contact a certified transcriber. A list of certified transcribers is available at 
www.njcourts.gov/courts/assets/appellate/certtranscriberlst.pdf or from the Appellate Division 
Clerk's Office. 

2. Use the Appellate Division Court Transcript Request form and provide the selected transcriber 
with the docket number(s), the assigned judge name, case caption(s) and the dates of the hearings 
for the decision you wish to appeal. 

3. Provide any deposits/payments for the production of a transcript to the certified transcriber.  Do 
not send your deposit to the court. 

4. The transcriber will contact the assigned judge's chambers and arrange to complete the transcript. 

A copy of your notice of appeal to the Appellate Division should also be sent to your adversary, the 
assigned trial judge and the Tax Court Clerk/Administrator, as provided by the Appellate Division 
Rules. 

http://www.njcourts.gov/selfhelp/catalog.html?category=Appellate
http://www.njcourts.gov/courts/assets/appellate/certtranscriberlst.pdf


Small Claims Case Handbook - Local Property Tax 

Revised 08/2017, CN 10190 page 12 of 12 

Final Notes 

• File on time. 

• Complete all forms and include the correct filing fee. 

• If you are an entity other than a sole proprietor, such as a corporation or a trust, you must be 
represented by a New Jersey attorney. 

• Be sure to submit proof of the amount of property tax paid if you are appealing based on taxes 
less than $25,000.  A copy of the prior year’s final tax bill or the current year’s notice of 
assessment card or a statement certifying the amount of the prior year’s property taxes must be 
submitted with your complaint. 

• If you intend to rely on sales or rentals of comparable properties or an appraisal report, you must 
supply a list of the sales or rentals or a copy of the appraisal report to the municipal attorney not 
later than 20 days before the trial. 

• Have your proofs ready and subpoena any witnesses for trial. 
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We will be happy to help you if we can.  However, we are allowed to help you only in certain ways, since we want 
to be fair to everyone in a case. 

This is a list of some things the court staff can and cannot do for you.  Please read it carefully before asking the court 
staff for help. 

• We can explain and answer questions about how the court works. 
• We can tell you what the requirements are to have your case considered by the court. 
• We can give you some information from your case file. 
• We can provide you with samples of court forms that are available. 
• We can provide you with guidance on how to fill out forms. 
• We can usually answer questions about court deadlines. 
• We cannot give you legal advice.  Only your lawyer can give you legal advice. 
• We cannot tell you whether or not you should bring your case to court. 
• We cannot give you an opinion about what will happen if you bring your case to court. 
• We cannot recommend a lawyer, but we can provide you with the telephone number of a local lawyer referral 

service. 
• We can cannot not talk to the judge for you about what will happen in your case. 
• We cannot let you talk to the judge outside of court. 
• We cannot change an order issued by a judge. 

We look forward to helping you in accordance with these guidelines. 

Tendremos el placer de ayudarle si podemos.  sin embargo, sólo se nos permite  darle cierta clase de ayuda 
puesto que queremos ser justos con todos los interesados. 

Antes de pedir ayuda al personal del tribunal, por favor lea detenidamente la siguiente lista de algunas cosas que 
podemos o no podemos hacer por usted. 

• Podemos explicar y contestar preguntas acerca del funcionamiento del tribunal. 

• Podemos indicarle los requisitos para que el juez considere su causa. 

• Podemos darle algunos datos relativos al expediente de su causa. 

• Podemos darle muestras de los formularios del tribunal que estén disponibles. 

• Podemos darle asesoramiento sobre cómo llenar los formularios. 

• Podemos, por lo general, contestar preguntas sobre los plazos máximos que hay en el tribunal. 

• No podemos darle consejos legales.  Solamente su abogado le puede dar consejos legales. 

• No podemos decirle si debe presentar su caso ante el juez, o si no debe hacerlo. 

• No podemos darle una opinión sobre lo que ocurrirá si usted le presenta su caso al juez. 

• No podemos recomendarle un abogado, pero podemos darle el número de teléfono de un servicio local que 
recomienda abogados. 

• No podemos hablar con el juez a nombre suyo sobre lo que pasará en su causa. 

• No podemos permitirle hablar con el juez fuera de la sala del tribunal. 

• No podemos cambiar ninguna orden emitida por un juez. 

Nos será muy grato ayudarle bajo estas condiciones. 
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